Of The Year Honored
• Local educators honored at Palos Verdes Golf Club.

The 38th annual Educator of the Year celebration, held Nov. 7 at the Palos Verdes Golf Club, honored nine Peninsula educators for their outstanding teaching and professional contributions to their schools and colleges.
The honorees included Allison Lehault from Palos Verdes Intermediate School, Kimberly Tatman from Chadwick School, Michelle “Mimi” Cohen from Point Vicente Elementary School, Jonathon Agostino from Rolling Hills Preparatory and Renaissance Schools, Christopher Doughty from The Salvation Army’s College for Officer Training, Janice Demarti from Peninsula Heritage School, Carrie Ellis from Soleado Elementary School, Dr. Larry Dunlop from Marymount California University and Vararat Chaiyont Kan from Palos Verdes Peninsula High School.
Recipients were introduced by their respective school principal, head of school or college president, and then they talked about regarding their love of teaching and their unique approaches to their subject area and their students.
The response to getting this honor was best summed up in the words of the Chadwick School honoree, Kimberly Tatman, who said, “Each day I get to go work at a job I love, where I grow in profound ways, and where I’m surrounded by a group of inspiring educators. Being recognized for that work as Educator of the Year is both humbling and amazing. I am truly grateful.”
edFor the last several years the event has been sponsored by Palos Verdes Peninsula Rotary Club, under the leadership of Ms. Joan Behrens and Dr. James Hartman who chair the Educator of the Year Committee and also act as Masters of Ceremonies.
Harry Kitter chairs the Fund-Raising Committee that solicits sponsorship of the event from the broader business and educational community as well as Rotarians who all contribute to college, vocational and Stem scholarships.
These funds are then awarded annually from the Club Foundation to needy and capable students from the Peninsula and the Los Angeles Harbor Boys and Girls Club. Over the last 10 years the Foundation has distributed $350,000 for such awards.
Each school hosts teachers, faculty and staff and parents to support their winner. This year approximately 250 people attended the event.
Every winner receives a gift carriage clock, an Educator of the Year pin, certificates and commendations from civic and government entities, and most importantly, a salute from their colleagues, students and community who are the beneficiaries of their significant contributions.
— email reports

Announcements 450.100.pvsports

The Latest Edition No. 236

Video Webcast

Our Supporters200 delio200 bco200 malaga200 rhp200 rena200 stroh200 pvnet200 jdfactors200 george200 gilligan200 trotter200 horusicky200 heritage200 norris200 premierbank200 rhcds200 rushhour200.joyful200 pvld200 samba200 peaceland200 fram